Aftermath

27 Dec

I enjoyed the holidays.  I loved watching my children open their gifts.  We built Legos, put together a princess castle, read new stories, colored new pictures, and danced to new music.

I also enjoyed all the holiday food.  Turkey, cookies, fudge, mashed potatoes, gravy, bourbon chocolate pecan pie (yes, it is as fantastic as it sounds).  My pants feel snug enough that I considered the maternity jeans with the giant panel I have buried in the basement.  But even I’m not that desperate.

I did manage to get in a long walk in the cold, and I do consider all the laundry, cleaning, and chasing of my daughter some exercise.  My husband did the grocery shopping today and bought a few bags of salad.  That was perfect for dinner.  As he said, we need a bit of a detox after this weekend.

It was a lovely holiday.  Now it’s time to get back to reality.

Leave a Reply

