Rejection is another word for opportunity

18 Apr

I received two more rejections from jobs I applied for yesterday.  I can’t tell you how many I’ve received.  Even more are the many applications that are in limbo out there.  It stinks.  I can’t say that they get easier to receive.  It feels like I’m in high school again.  Like I put a note in that really cute guy’s locker asking if he wants to go to a movie sometime.

You don’t know what he thinks of you.  He can see what you’ve done.  But that really cute guy doesn’t know yet that you like chocolate ice cream, puppies, walks in the woods, that you love to turn the pages of a book and immerse yourself into another world for a minute.  That you’re really great at multitasking, but have a lot of unfinished projects.  That you like to sit in the sun and feel the warmth of the rays, but not for long as you also burn within minutes.

Perhaps he’ll consider that note and ask you some of those questions.  Most likely he’ll ignore it.  He’ll probably think it won’t work and say no (hopefully in a polite manner).

But maybe he’ll be the one that is interested.

Maybe he’ll be the one that likes animals too.  Maybe he’ll want to see that movie with you.  And another.  Maybe dinner, some long walks in the woods.  Maybe he’ll ask you to marry him and you’ll have this beautiful family with him.  And maybe when you receive another job rejection he’ll be there saying “it’ll come for you.”

If you don’t try you’ll never know.

So I’m sure I’ll receive a few more job rejections.  And probably a few more employers won’t look past my experience.

But I’m going to keep applying.  As much as it stinks to hear the “no,” I know that there is a yes out there somewhere.  After all, I married that guy from high school.  We’ve been married almost 11 years now.  We have three kids, two cats, a house, many shared dreams and when I told him that I got yet another job rejection from a job I wanted he said “it’ll come.”

The right thing is out there somewhere.  We just haven’t found each other yet.

Leave a Reply

