A little less “on edge” and a little kinder

5 Jul

Yesterday I was gifted the beautiful thing of “me” time.  Well, okay, so my husband very nicely suggested that I seemed a bit “on edge” and that maybe I wanted to get out of the house for a little bit.  I naturally want to argue and say I’m fine.  But, I’m also smart enough now to accept that gift of quiet time and kick myself out of the house before I get too “on edge.”

I didn’t know where I was going.  But once I was driving down the street I opted to get coffee and write.  As I pull up into Barnes and Noble I see a car pointed the wrong direction and parked in the “no parking area” in front of the store.  I was stuck if I wanted to turn that direction.  I’d have to either wait for them to move or drive in the opposite lane of traffic and I saw cars were coming my direction.  So I turned right and parked further away.  No big deal to me today as I was alone. When my girls are with me that’s more challenging.  As I parked I wondered why in the world someone would park that way.  Until I saw a dear elderly lady dressed in a purple sweatshirt and hair coifed in a bluish perm slowly shuffling out the door with her walker.  From the driver’s side door an elderly gentleman in a white plaid dress shirt raced over to her and walked next to her until they reached the passenger door which he opened and guided her in. I’m guessing you question the “raced” but I could tell he was trying to be quick.  From afar I could see the gentleness that he conveyed.  And the fragileness of this woman.  But mostly their bond and their connection.  It was lovely. The man pulled her walker out and put it in the trunk of their Buick, but not before he closed the car door for her.  And then he quickly went to the driver’s door where they left to wherever next was.  Home?  Dinner?  To a holiday party?

It wasn’t busy in that lot today, maybe because it was a holiday.  Or that it was 4 pm.  Who knows why.  And this scene only took about five minutes, but it made me smile.  Even though I could have been irritated that their car was in my way.  And maybe someone else would, but if they would have witnessed what I saw they would have realized why it was there as well.  Instead of being irritated that I had to park further away I chose to see the beauty in that moment.

Disability comes in so many shapes and forms.  My recent blog post about my daughter at the splash pad has received countless comments on the beauty in other’s kindness.  And some people have reached out to me about their own disabilities or someone they know that feel the same way.

There are a lot of disabilities.  Some more obvious than others.  The elderly lady with the walker, has a hard time walking.  My daughter, hers is visible too, with the physical characteristics of Down Syndrome.  It’s easier sometimes because it is visible.  Not everyone has a visible disability.  I have a friend I met online.  Though we’ve never met, we have Facebook messaged for years.  And I consider her a best friend.  She’s incredibly supportive, makes me laugh, and has been there for me through my ups and downs in life.   She has a hearing loss.  We joke often about the day we meet as I naturally have a quiet voice and she can’t hear worth a hoot.  So we are making sure that when we do finally meet both of our iPhones are charged up.  Or near an outlet with our chargers.  As I’m sure we’ll talk a lot, but it will still be via Messenger.  She might not be able to hear my voice, but she will be able to hear my laugh!  But I also know she struggles getting a job, communicating with anyone because of her disability.  And you wouldn’t know it if you saw her.  She has one of many invisible disabilities.

My wish in this world is to see more kindness.  Be kind to others because you don’t know what they are going through.  Whether there is a visible disability, a non-visible one.  Or maybe someone is just going through an incredibly hard time.  One act of kindness can go a long way.

4 Responses to “A little less “on edge” and a little kinder”

  1. Theresa Anderson July 6, 2016 at 9:44 am #

    So true. You Never know what people may be going through. I have worked Retail most my life. This is good to keep in mind when people can be so cruel.

    • mylifewiththree July 6, 2016 at 8:56 pm #

      Oh I worked retail and customer service for a long time. That’s a tough job, kudos to you for thinking outside the box:)

  2. E Jensen July 7, 2016 at 2:45 am #

    Thank you for this post. I too have a daughter with Down Syndrome and after she was born we had a good friend who had adopted multiple children with varying disabilities who came to visit. She said something very similar that made a huge impact on me. Everybody has a disability, some are just more visible than others, but the only true disability are the limitations we place on ourselves.

Leave a Reply

