Mom Dresses

20 Feb

I have an occasion I need to dress up for coming up.  

I don’t dress up.  I’m a stay at home mom/writer.  My version of dressing up is a sundress in summer sunshine or a pretty tunic with my LuLaRoes.  And no, I’m not going to buy a Carly and call it good.  I’ll admit, I briefly considered a solid Nicole as formal enough, but came to my senses quickly.

My last formal dress was worn at a wedding when I was pregnant with my youngest.  I do believe I still have it, but I doubt it fits.

I have three kids.  And I never lost all the pounds I gained with my fourteen year old, so that leaves me in the challenging department called Plus Sized.  There are considerably fewer options for us larger ladies.  

I’d be set if I wanted to dress up as WonderWoman for this event.  While Store A didn’t carry the formal cosplay dress in my size Store 3 did.  Noted for when the movie comes out this summer.  I could play dress-up with my youngest.

However, while lovely, Wonder Woman’s dress isn’t suitable for a gala.  And while I’m not in my twenties anymore, I also found myself horrified to see another store claiming these are good options.


No.  Absolutely not.  Nothing with a jeweled jacket or a giant flower pattern is appropriate for my age.

I learned that in the entire mall I could not find a single thing.  The dresses felt too young for me or too old for me.  For the love of Pete where are the pretty dresses in my size?  One without a cartoon character, giant flowers or attached beaded jacket?  Where?

And I know I’m not alone.  Statistics say most women are a size 16.  SOME dresses are made in that size.  But it’s a smaller size 16 because it’s not cut for a “mom belly.”  

So off I trudge to try again or (eek) try an online dress and hope their measurements match up or pray for a good return policy.  On the brighter side my FitBit congratulated me on a job well done.  Maybe I need to find the shoes before the dress.

Or raid my kid’s closet?

Leave a Reply

